top of page
  • Writer's pictureVuyo Kwakweni

Boys

All I can do is write about boys.

I slide letters around,

carefully leaving an appropriate space

between you and me,

without seeming to try too hard

so that you can see these boys as I do.

Boys who are scared,

boys who are scary,

who’re loud, timid, cranky, and cheery.


But, really, that’s how I want you to see me.

not as a boy –

not entirely –

but as someone to whom feeling is not allowed,

as someone who always gets their way,

as someone who can’t find the words

or the courage

to say I love you,

so I ask you to let me look after you.


I write about them

because I don’t know any other way

to show you my inside parts,

the parts that cry alone,

the parts that rage rage rage,

the parts that stop listening,

the parts that use violence as a substitute for tenderness.


I say boy because the feelings

I have are not those of a grown-up –

they haven’t learnt to be suppressed yet.

I sulk when things do not go my way,

I pull at your hair just so that you look in my direction,

as if I don’t have a tongue that tells boastful stories.


All I do is write about boys

because I hope that one day

when I’m writing their redemption arcs,

I find something redeeming in myself,

something that brings me above regular masculinity.


All I do is write about boys

and feel guilty

for trying to find myself in their fictional lives.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page