top of page
  • Writer's pictureVuyo Kwakweni

About Another First Kiss

Our bodies feel awkward,

they creak and groan like abandoned houses,

but in all the ways that matter,

they’re real.

The muscles in his arms are moving under my hands,

his breath is louder than any shell.

His hands skating over my shoulder blades force me onto earth

and send me into the clouds

and shove me into hell,

my body feels like it’s on fire.

He smiles at me

and then that smile is on my lips

and then we’re smiling together

and then our smiles are together,

foreheads touching, breaths mingling.

He smells like coffee and toothpaste.

We feel ancient, but it also feels like a first kiss,

all the nerves and the belief

that after this, we will not be the same.

After creeping slowly, and then quickly,

his lips are on mine,

and mine on his.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter

Boys

All I can do is write about boys.

bottom of page